Werner Aisslinger

Interior DesignerProduct Designer

Innovative Technologien und ungewöhnliche Materialien gehörten schon immer zu den zentralen Themen von Werner Aisslinger. 1964 im schwäbischen Nördlingen geboren, studierte er zunächst an der Berliner Universität der Künste und gründete 1993 schließlich das „studio aisslinger“.

Kurz darauf gelang ihm ein erster großer Paukenschlag. Sein „Juli Chair“, den er für das experimentierfreudige Designlabel Cappellini aus Italien entwarf, wurde als erstes deutsches Möbel seit 30 Jahren in die permanente Kollektion des New Yorker MOMA aufgenommen. Der Grund: Der tulpenförmige Stuhl war aus Integralschaum geformt. Zuvor polsterte das Material Autolenkräder ab.

Zur Jahrtausendwende fand er mit seinen transluzenten Gelmöbeln weitere weltweite Beachtung. Für die „Soft Chaise“ für Zanotta und den „Gel Chair“ für Cappelini nutze er einen speziellen High-Tech-Stoff, der vorher in Fahrradsatteln für Komfort sorgte. Die Möbel fanden auch einen besonders prominenten Fan: Brad Pitt orderte sie für sein Strandhaus in Santa Barbara.

Weitere Highlights in Aisslingers Portfolio sind die Stauraumsysteme „Case“ und „Cube“ für Interlübke, das Sofa „Bikini Island“ für Moroso, das „Endless Shelf“ für Porro und die Serie „Mesh“ für Piure. Mit dem „Loftcube“ schuf der in Berlin ansässige Designer ein mobiles Wohnhaus mit Küche, Wohnraum, Schlafzimmer und Bad auf 36 Quadratmetern.

Aisslinger erhielt für seine Neuentwicklungen und Ideen zahlreiche Designpreise wie den Compasso d’Oro, den Red Dot Design Award, den German Design Award und den iF Design Award.

The essentials

Werner Aisslinger in the wild

Signature Places

Berlin

Hotel
Restaurant
25hours Hotel Bikini Berlin

Stockholm

Hotel
Hobo

Berlin

Store
Bikini Berlin

Berlin

Bar
Monkey Bar

Werner Aisslinger

Interior DesignerProduct Designer

Innovative technologies and unusual materials have always been Werner Aisslinger’s central themes. Born in 1964 in the Swabian city Nördlingen, he studied at Berlin’s Universität der Künste and founded his “studio aisslinger“ in 1993.

Shortly afterwards he celebrated his first success. His “Juli Chair”, designed for the experimental design label Cappellini, was the first German furniture on permanent exhibit at New York’s MOMA since 30 years. The reason: the tulip-shaped chair was shaped of structural foam. Before that, the material upholstered steering wheels in cars.

At the turn of the millennium, he received further worldwide attention with his translucent gel furniture. For his “Soft Chaise” for Zanotta and the “Gel Chair” for Cappellini he used a special high-tech fabric which is mainly used to create comfort in bicycle saddles. The pieces found a VIP fan: Brad Pitt ordered them for his beach house in Santa Barbara.

Further highlights in Aisslinger’s portfolio are the storage systems “Case” and “Cube” for Interlübke, the “Bikini Island” sofa for Moors, the “Endless Shelf” for Porro and the “Mesh” series for Piure. With his “Loftcube” the Berlin-based designer created a furnished house with kitchen, living area, bedroom and bath on 36 square meters.

For his product innovations he received numerous design awards such as the Compasso d’Oro, the Red Dot Design Award, the German Design Award and the iF Design Award.

The essentials

Werner Aisslinger in the wild

Signature Places

Berlin

Hotel
Restaurant
25hours Hotel Bikini Berlin

Stockholm

Hotel
Hobo

Berlin

Store
Bikini Berlin

Berlin

Bar
Monkey Bar